We at TA and Petro believe drivers deserve nothing but the utmost respect, care and comfort and a good pat on the back. That’s why we’re proud to announce the 2nd annual Citizen Driver Award. This award recognizes drivers who earn public respect for our industry through good citizenship, safety, community involvement, health and wellness, and leadership. We're asking you to help us find our best Citizen Drivers. Anyone can nominate a driver – fleet owners, employees, husbands, wives, sons, daughters, trucking organization members, trucking industry suppliers. Nominations are being accepted until September 30, 2014. A panel of distinguished trucking professionals will review the nominees and serve as judges. In 2015, at the Mid-America Truck Show, we will announce our Citizen Driver winners. Among other honors, winners will have a TA or Petro location named for them. We look forward to meeting your nominees, and honoring the professionals who drive our livelihoods. And our country.

dear trucking

Citizen Driver intends to honor our industry’s professional truck drivers who best exemplify the kind of quality individuals that we all know exist in trucking. Citizen Driver also intends to bring these drivers’ stories to the general public. We should be proud of the great men and women who drive trucks in America, and America should hear their stories. Our goal for Citizen Driver is to give both industry and national recognition to one of the best things about trucking – its salt-of-the-earth drivers. We hope Citizen Driver might be one small act that can generate stories about drivers that help propel the image of trucking and of truck drivers to new heights, to bring one more bit of respect to the professional truck driver. We hope that, over time, and combined with other image enhancing programs spearheaded by many, many other organizations, we will be successful in improving respect for drivers from others, respect by drivers of themselves, increasing interest of those who are looking for a career to become truck drivers, and along with all of that the comfort, safety and well-being of drivers on the road.

We are firm believers that every positive message, no matter how small, will eventually have a big impact on all of these things. We hope our Citizen Driver program will be one such message.

The focus criteria we have suggested for nominees include Citizenship, Safety, Community, Health & Wellness and Leadership. That said, it is our intent to consider all nominations. It is very difficult, and limiting, to truly define the criteria that make a particular individual someone the industry can be proud of. For some, it may include all five of our suggested criteria. For others, it may be an abundance of one or two of the criteria. Still others may be exemplary because they are engaged in an admirable activity that fits squarely into none of our suggested criteria. We want the Citizen Drivers to be amazing people – people everyone can admire – and people that the trucking industry is glad to count among one of their own.

In December of this year, a to-be-assembled panel of distinguished trucking professionals will review the nominees, decide on a group of distinguished finalists and ultimately select one or more winners (we expect to rename several truck stops each year). We will support the process throughout the year with our social and print media and to share information and stories about nominees with others who also have an interest.

Winners and distinguished finalists will all receive recognition and a package of goods and services from TA and Petro. Those that are selected to be respected by having a truck stop named after them will be asked to select their favorite truck stop, and then we will set to installing plaques, changing the awning name-banners and making other modifications so that all of our guests, drivers and motorists alike, are made aware of the high standards those winners bring to trucking.

I hope I can count on you to support our Citizen Drivers by considering and making a nomination. We know these exemplary individuals exist and we want to give their stories a chance to be heard.

Thomas M. O’Brien
President and Chief Executive Officer

Trucking accounts for 70% of all freight transported in the U.S.

In his 36 years of safe driving, Jimmy Ardis has earned safety certificates from many trucking companies, as well as the OOIDA Award and a Goodyear Highway Hero finalist for pulling a fellow driver from a burning vehicle.


Charles Endorf has dedicated more than 40 years of service to Werner Enterprises, and is possibly the only driver to achieve 5 million safe miles with a single carrier. He’s known as “Mister Safety” with countless awards for production, on-time service and safety, including Werner’s first Million-Mile Driver.


Former police officer Shawn Hubbard has been a professional driver for 14 years. In November 2009, Shawn stopped at a roadside accident where he saved a man trapped in a burning vehicle and was honored with the “Highway Angel of the Year” award.


Norman Knight has been a professional driver for 25 years without a single accident. When he’s not in his truck, Norm’s on his motorcycle, taking part in charity fundraisers for the Patriot Guards, the American Legion Riders and Warriors Watch to help families of fallen soldiers. He has been a volunteer firefighter for 15 years, earning a “Most Active Responder” award.


Team drivers Bob and Linda Caffee are true ambassadors for the trucking industry, donating their time to St. Louis schools, Trucker Buddy International and the Saint Christopher Truckers Development and Relief Fund.

Bob and Linda

Over 46 years, Jerry Fritts has earned numerous safety awards, including the Landstar Roadstar Award. He is a member of the Landstar Roadstar Hall of Fame. He gives input on truck safety technology to companies like Eaton, has been a Field Safety Supervisor, a finalist for America’s Road Team and invited to Washington as an advisor by the Federal Motor Safety Carrier Administration.


Henry Albert is a founding member of the Trucking Solutions Group, on the Driver Health Council, has served on the National Association of Small Trucking Companies and the OOIDA Board of Directors.